Green Thumb Up My Nose

Garden Report for 120402

“Dear Diary, March 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30. It rained today.”

Our Spring continues to look like a Portland Winter. Rain, not quite freezing, blustery. Followed by more rain, and the sump pump came on every half hour, and it kept coming on for a day after the rain stopped. Our Inland NorthWest twist on things is the fact that for the second year in a row we have had snow the first week of April.

No work on the garden. Pulled the remains of the greenhouse out of the corner where they were huddling. I am thinking of using the plastic as a ground cover, to start some seeds early.

Meanwhile, the peas I started indoors are ready to transplant. I’d have done it Sunday, if it weren’t for the 30kt winds and blowing snow. Today fer sure. I’m going to cut a bunch of MJ’s water bottles to make individual greenhouse thingies. I plan to put them out between class and my Fac Rules meeting. I’ve got 15 plants in peat pots, 12 of which look to be in good condition.

The lettuce containers and the white radish container have sprouted and are doing well. The tomatoes are around 4″ high, and I need to think about the next step for them. I’d like to try putting one in a pot in the basement next to the furnace, with a flourescent shop light above it as a way of getting some early tomatoes — under normal conditions we are lucky if the outdoors ones ripen by mid September. If that works, I plan to see if I can have an indoor plant that lasts into November or so.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

