Oat Punch

MJ made some punch the other day, for her Ladies Club or something. There was lots left over, so I thought I’d try some in oatmeal. It was a mango/pineapple-nectar-based punch — sweet, but not overly so. I did the usual cup of liquid to 1/3 cup of 20min oats. Instead of potato flakes, which I thought might clash, I thickened it with mochi rice flour. No other additives, since I wasn’t sure what would work.

Result: Not….bad. Sweet, and a little gluey (that would be the mochi). I get the impression it’s only partly there. Like it was a cake-like recipe that needed icing, or an icing recipe that needed more sugar. I’m still not sure what would be a good additive. Maybe fresh fruit.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

