Green Thumb Up My Nose

Garden Report for 120430

Nothing much done on the garden this week. Weather was ugly the first part of the week, and I was out-of-town the second part (which didn’t keep the weather from continuing ugly). Did lay down a good infusion of coffee grounds, which seems to be working in keeping squirrels out. Not totally effective — it looks like there was a little bit of digging done while I was gone.  I probably jumped too soon with putting out seeds and plants. The weather has stayed in the rainy mid-30s /upper 40s all week, and it looks like we may have had a bit of air frost, because the tomato in my hanging basket is now…hanging.

I’ve started a compost can using a 20gal garbage can set up on the keyhole garden, with holes drilled in the bottom. That’s where our scraps will go until we get the next increment of compost (this coming Friday). Then we’ll spread the scraps and cover with compost.

Only about half of the seeds I planted in the seed sprouter actually sprouted, mostly the squash (of various denominations). I have reloaded those cells that didn’t sprout with a second round of seeds. In the empty cells, I’ve planted zucchini, yard-long beans, and a Brandywine tomato variant.

If I get a chance before Friday, I might plant out some asparagus and blueberries. They’ll go in kindof shallow, but then be covered up with the new load of compost.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Green Thumb Up My Nose”

  1. Kurt Kremer Says:

    About grounds: I used to dump the French press dregs in the herb and strawberries patch, thinking it would kick up the acidity. It turns out that coffee grounds are fairly neutral–only the liquid retains much acidity, but that they do increase the nitrogen. While some sources you’re running a coffee shop or getting leftover grounds from said brown liquid bistro, it’s pretty hard to overdo it. they do help with minor pest control (slugs and snails but alas not puppy dog tails) and, while the grounds are a couple of days old, help deter cats. (You can’t always be out there bit a BB gun and it’s hard to pull the trigger when one’s otherwise faithful old mouser is in the sites.) Best use of coffee grounds I’ve found so far–amending vegetable and worm compost.

    • FoundOnWeb Says:

      And it’s really nice when I can get it in 10lb bags from the barista. That will end in June when school lets out, but by then I’ll have moved to stage 2 of my keyhole garden process anyway.

Leave a Reply

