Oatmeal Weekly

This isn’t my recipe, it’s from TheKitchen.com. Essentially, you pour lots of boiling water over lots of steel-cut oats, distribute the resulting slurry amongst five mason jars, seal, and leave them sit in the ‘fridge until you need them. Then you open one up, add your flavorants, and microwave. Perfect as an instant breakfast you can make on Sunday night and eat the rest of the workweek.

Quite aside from the fact that I’m not a big fan of steel-cut (I didn’t say I can’t stand it, I said I can’t hardly stand it), the problem I see with this is that you are eating bland old oats, with stuff sprinkled on. If I were to try this, I’d add my herbs and spices when I filled each jar, to give the flavors a chance to get to know each other. E’en so there’s still things like Golden Curry that this approach wouldn’t work with, and if you want to add stuff at the start, you have to plan your breakfasts for the entire week.

Besides, who has room in the ‘fridge for five more mason jars?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

