Green Thumb Up My Nose

Garden Report for 130401

Running a little late on this, just like with all my other gardening chores. The weather this week was cool to cold. I spent the weekend setting up a cold frame around two of the KHG sections, and seeing if I could kill my seedlings by failing to water them.

My first attempt at a cold frame ended in failure, as I reported last week. This week’s experiment went much better, given that we haven’t had any wind yet to test it. My cunning plan was to build a simple 2×4 ridgepole over each section of the KHG, and drape the plastic/chicken wire over that. The object of the exercise is to keep in heat, and keep out squirrels. I decided to do this by making a sandwich. Then I got to work on the cold frame.

Fortunately, a four foot wide swatch of chickenwire will stretch from the top of my lo-rider ridgepole down to the cinderblocks. That means I didn’t have to do too much cutting — just clip off enough to run the length of the KHG section. It was the same with the plastic. The package I have is 10×50, so if I cut it in half I have enough to drape down over the cinderblock and act as a rodent deterrent. So the first layer of chickenwire supports the plastic. The second layer blocks the rodents, and keeps the plastic from shredding into the wind. Here’s the process:

Lay out the chickenwire, and two boards, long enough to run the length of the KHG (remember, mine is rectangular).

Boards and chickenwire

Boards and chickenwire

Staple the chickenwire to the boards

Alignment is easy if you use the hexes

Alignment is easy if you use the hexes

Lay the plastic out on top of the chickenwire

Plastic over chickenwire

Plastic over chickenwire

Yes, I know it’s translucent rather than transparent. It’s what they had. Shut up and staple some more chickenwire on top of the plastic.

Our PCP sandwich

Our PCP sandwich

Now, carry it over to where your ridgepole is

Raise high the roofbeam gardeners

Raise high the roofbeam gardeners

And drape it over. The 2×4 will keep it from sliding off, and the other 2×4 will hold down the side. Weights on top and side will keep it in place when the wind blows

Yes, translucent sucks

Yes, translucent sucks

There’s not much clearance

You don't need much clearance

You don’t need much clearance

Do this twice. Then drape something over the ends. Then put paving slabs on top of the 2x4s, and other stabilizers on the chickewire and plastic.

The completed project

The completed project

And we’re done. Not pretty, but I think it will serve my dual purpose. With temps running upper 60’s/low 40’s, I don’t think I need to worry about overheating. I plan to water it with my new watering system (a tale for another time), planting stuff, closing it up, and not looking at it until the ides of April.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

