CocoKefir Oats

When I make a run to the supermarket I sometimes grab something at random from the shelf, just to try it. This has resulted in several new additions to my cooking repertoire, and the occasional call out for a dinner pizza. This week it was a bottle of coconut-flavored kefir. I hadn’t had kefir before, or maybe I was just suppressing the memory. It was tart to the point of almost, but not quite, undrinkableness. Of course, when I have something I’m about to pour down the sink I have trained myself to first think of it as a potential oatmeal ingredient — at least, for things that are not going to fight back when I tip the bottle over the drain.

So, I took a quarter cup of kefir and 3/4 cup of water, and made oatmeal. Since it was going to need sweetn’ing I used mochi flour instead of potato flakes.

Setup: 1/3 cup of stone ground rolled oats, two dinner teaspoons of mochi flour, one cup of thinned kefir, salt.  Cook for 10 minutes or so, depending on the exact style of oats. I added the mochi a few minutes before I it off the stove, to give it time to cook.

Results: Needed sweet, so I put in a packet of Splenda. Needed something more, so I drizzled a couple teaspoons of coconut syrup (that we bought to make piña coladas with a while back, in honor of the 150th anniversary of the Gadsden Purchase) on top. The end result was an OK breakfast, if your taste runs to sweet/tart. I still think I’m going to dump the rest.

Rating: *****

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

