Horse Soldiers

Paul Krugman reminded me that yesterday (17th) was the 150th anniversary of Grierson’s Raid, a Civil War cavalry strike from Corinth, TN, to New Orleans, and that the raid was the basis of the John Ford movie Horse Soldiers, starring John Wayne and William Holden.

I love a good cavalry story

I love a good cavalry story

One of the things the raid demonstrated was that the South was pretty much a hollow shell, and once the shell was penetrated it didn’t have forces capable of stopping the invader. A friend gave me the three-volume history of the Civil War by Shelby Foote. I’m not even halfway through the first volume, but I might have to skip ahead, to see how it ends.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

