An open letter to Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Ms Rodgers,
I am nearly seventy years old, a military veteran, a Republican for most of my life. I lived in Washington, DC, for fifteen years. I’ve lived in your district for fifteen years. I voted for you, once. I have never seen such irresponsible conduct as is now being shown by you and the Republican Party in the House of Representatives.

I wasn’t going to write to you about the shutdown, but your latest screed forced my hand. It is, not to put too fine a point on it, a tissue of lies from one end to another. You must have an exceedingly low opinion of the voters of eastern Washington if you think that document will be believed by anyone smart enough to read an email.

You had the chance to be a statesman. You are in a safe Republican district, and there’s no-one in sight who can mount a credible threat from your right. You could have been one of the sane voices in Congress, but instead you voted to furlough tens of thousands of hard-working government workers and shut down much-needed services, like NIH, in what amounts to a fit of partisan political pique because you lost the game of partisan politics.

The LA Times reports that, in an 1860 speech at New York’s Cooper Union, President Lincoln said:

Your purpose, then, plainly stated, is that you will destroy the Government, unless you be allowed to construe and enforce the Constitution as you please, on all points in dispute between you and us. You will rule or ruin in all events. […] A highwayman holds a pistol to my ear, and mutters through his teeth, “Stand and deliver, or I shall kill you, and then you will be a murderer!”

This describes your actions exactly.

I cannot say that you’ve lost my vote over this, because you lost that years ago when you voted against ACA, and then lied about what it said. What I can say is that you have encouraged me to spend some time searching the country for Democratic candidates in competitive districts, and then supporting them with my campaign contributions.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “An open letter to Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers”

  1. zencat2 Says:

    Hear, hear. Everything FOW wrote describes exactly my views and the actions I will take. Shame on you Ms.McMorris-Rodgers and shame on your party.

Leave a Reply

