Green Thumb Up My Nose

Garden Report for 140714

The weather this week was hot and dry, with highs above 90F the whole time, and peaking at 96F on the weekend.

Nothing harvested, other than some lettuce. It’s all getting ready to bolt, but the last time I did a big harvest, it rotted in the fridge, so I’m just picking what I need. Here’s what the agro-complex looks like on Bastille Day:

Keyhole Garden, 14 July, 2014

Keyhole Garden, 14 July, 2014
(Click to embiggen)

Foreground: Pie pumpkin, with at least two softball-size pumps
Front: Maxed-out lettuce on the right, seedling lettuce on the left, under some wire shelving set on 2×4’s to discourage the squirrels
Mid: Tomatoes and squash in the front, with peas and beans and unseen-but-stressed Brussles sprouts in the back
Rear: Bean sprouts, Pea sprouts, onion shoots, strawberries. All pretty much invisible from here.

The hot dry weather is keeping the powdery mildew at bay, I think. We’ll see how things work out.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Green Thumb Up My Nose”

  1. Kurt Kremer Says:

    This looks great. My KHG (in Portland) is darn near primordial in places, too–yeah for KHG. Also, I think it’s just a good year for gardens in the PNW–even outside the KHG. I took photos using my phone a week ago, meaning to give a garden report, and then looked at the garden last night and realized I need new photos.

    I like your use of wire shelving for shading plants likely to crisp in the recent heat waves. I’ll think about that for next year’s garden.

    Also, this year, I’ve had a weird (as in, never seen it before) fungus not unlike foamy vomit on the dirt and at times attached to stems–not sure if there’s something in the soil coming up. We just watch for it and clean it off. So far, it doesn’t seemed to have harmed any plants. This is only in the KHG.

    • FoundOnWeb Says:

      Strange things happen when an ecosystem comes together (read the RGB Mars books, for instance). The first season of my KHG I had a bazillion sowbugs running around, then, suddenly, they were gone. I still have lots, but not the teeming millions of the first year. I’ll pass this on to Debbie and see what she says.

Leave a Reply

