Cornmeal Oats

I’m not a big fan of cornbread. I mean, I don’t dislike it — kirai janai — and I’ll eat it when served, but I never suggest it, except to go with specific dishes. Some bean dishes, for example. One problem is, it’s too crumbly. It’s either hot and moist and crumbly right out of the oven, or it’s cold and dry and crumbly after sitting about for an hour or so. If it’s not piping hot, the butter sticks to the knife on one side, and pulls up crumbles on the other. And so forth.

MJ made a bunch of cornbread for some sort of church potluck, presumably involving beans. There was lots left over, cold and crumbly, the next morning, and why not?

Experiment 1: This was a test of cornbread as an extender. Since I was loading it up with corn-starchiness I left off the potatoes.

Setup: 1/3 cup of stone ground rolled oats, 1/4 cup (loose pack) of cornbread crumbs, one cup of broth (whatever’s on hand – – I used chicken), salt.  Cook for 10 minutes or so, depending on the exact style of oats.

Results: More like corn-meal mush with an oat extender. Totally overwhelmed the oats. Would probably be better with bacon crumbles. I gave it two stars, but you might like it.

Rating: *****

Experiment 2: This was a test of cornbread as an ingredient. Once again, I left off the potatoes.

Setup: 1/3 cup of stone ground rolled oats, rounded measuring tablespoon of cornbread crumbs, one cup of broth (whatever’s on hand – – I used chicken), salt.  Cook for 10 minutes or so, depending on the exact style of oats.

Results: Strong cornbread flavor. Would still be better with bacon crumbles.

Rating: *****

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

