Oatgurt

As in oats and yogurt. Inspired by the link, I dashed out to buy a container of plain yogurt. Imagine my chagrin when I found that they only sold plain yogurt in the molto venti size. I lugged it home and started my experiments. These ran from a third of a cup at cooking time, to a couple tablespoons left to soak in the fridge, down to a simple dinner tablespoonful of yogurt added to a cup of broth and oatmeal and left to ferment on the counter overnight. Sometimes I added a teaspoon of sugar, to help the process along and counter the yogurt tang.

Setup: 1/3 cup of stone ground rolled oats, two dinner teaspoons of yogurt, one cup of broth, sugar. Let sit at room temperature overnight.  Cook for 10 minutes or so, depending on the exact style of oats.

Results: A different shade of bland. Bland in two dimensions, rather than one. Was smooth, creamy, tangy, acidulous, and needed a whole lot of something more. Using broth rather than water helped, except when the broth clashed with the tang. One time I added blueberries and a couple packs of sweetner, and that was nice. I think it has potential, but I’m not quite sure how I want to progress from here. Meanwhile, does anyone need half a gallon of yogurt?

Rating: *****

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

