The Needy Ones

Rescue dogs are notoriously needy. Case in point is our black lab rescue. Her one goal in life is to be close to her human. When I sit down, my butt hasn’t hit the chair before she’s in my lap. Fortunately, she only weighs about twenty pounds. If I tell her to come, she can jump a three-foot fence from a standing start next to it. She doesn’t need attention or petting. She just wants contact.

You know who beats that for needy? Politicians.

A week ago I made one of the few political contributions I’ve made in my life. Balloon Juice, a collaborative website I follow, had posted a link to ActBlue, a website for donations to close-but-winnable political races. I live in a dead-red portion of an otherwise blue state, and the local Republican Congresswoman is well-nigh unbeatable. There is no place locally that my donation would make a difference at the margin, but the ActBlue website has 16 House and Senate races that Democrats might just win, and a few bucks might just help. So I donated. Ten dollars each. I was expecting that to put me on a number of e-mailing lists, but boy was I surprised.

Three hours later, I had my first message from one of the campaigns, begging for more money. A week later, as I was typing this, the 122d 123d begging email came in. They were running at about one every 90min, awake or asleep.

Don’t get me wrong. I knew this would happen. I still think I did the right thing. I still think it’s a worthy cause. I’d recommend that you follow the link above and make a contribution of your own. I have a bunch of emails that will convince you that your donation is urgently needed.

I’m just a little bemused at how needy the politicians are.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

