Fall 2023 Anime Season

Normally, about this time of the year I’d publish my based-on-cover-art preview of the upcoming season. Unfortunately, this season, like last, is woefully short of commentable covers. So I’m just going to be dull and tell y’all what I plan to watch and why.

First is a group of shows that are special because they are based on light novels what I have read or am currently reading:

I shall survive using potions: 30-something Office Lady gets mistakenly killed by the gods. To make it up to her, she’s isekai’d into your typical medieval world. Bullies a dim-bulb goddess into giving her the ability to create any kind of potion in any kind of container. Ends up having to conceal her abilities from all the powerful people who want to control her.

What I liked about the LN plot was that, instead of just having this one-trick overpowered skill, she also has to work on not being discovered while she’s using it. The first episode tracked well with the LN. I’m looking forward to her establishing her first shop in a new country.

Our Dating Story: Cute and popular gyaru, who sleeps around a lot (and where were girls like that when I was in HS?) decides to date a nerdy virgin guy, who doesn’t want to have sex unless it’s meaningful (another type that I never met in my hormone-sodden HS days).

A somewhat typical popular girl picks insecure boy story. The LN only just started on J-Novel and the anime only just started on Crunchyroll, so the most I can say right now is that it’s a somewhat cute romcom that looks to be worth watching.

Tearmoon Empire: Marie Antoinette kind of princess reverts to her younger self after being beheaded in a peasant’s revolt. Works hard to avoid that fate the second time around. She’s almost as dense as her plot-cousin Bakarina, but fortunately for her, all the people around her are even denser.

I liked the LN enough that I bought the books instead of just reading it once on J-Novel. She surprises one of her advisors by spouting back is economic theories before he has a chance to lecture her on them in this timeline. He decides she’s a genius, and when you’re a genius, everybody assumes you’re playing 3D chess instead of tic-tac-toe.

I’m in love with the Villainess: Full up yuri romance about an OL gamer who suddenly wakes up inside her favorite game. Her favorite character in this otome game is the villainess, who shows a surprisingly human side.

Another title that I have the books for. Yes, it’s an isekai, and yes she’s totally overpowered by being a major fan of the game — to the point of writing fan-fiction about it — but it’s still an excellent slow-burn yuri romance.

Next, we have a trio of gaming anime, only one of which is an isekai.

16bit Sensation: Gaming industry illustrator wanders into a suspicious-looking shop (one that disappears a few hours later) and gets dumped back in time to 1992, the peak of the hentai game era.

Interesting idea, reasonably well executed, although I think the protagonna is a little too squeaky-voiced, and she could easily prove her futureness by showing them her 2023 ID. Still, it looks like it has potential.

Shangri-La Frontier : Straight up full immersion gaming. Guy who’s been playing nothing but garbage games checks into a top-tier VR game, pursued by a girl who really likes him.

Appears to be a fun program, despite the Loony-Tunes look of the protagonist.

Let Me Check the Walkthrough: Accidentally summoned to a game world as a hero, our protagonna has to train up the real hero.

Another one with potential. I like the idea. Unfortunately, the execution is a little over-the-top. This might be the first one to go.

So that’s it. Seven programs that I’m likely to see through to the end. There’s another handful or so that I’m not so sure of. They’ll probably end up in a TL;DR Real Soon Now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.