Fish Cake Oats

We had frozen fishcakes the other night. I don’t remember the brand, but it was your standard breaded-whitefish squares, about 5cm on a side. There was one left over. Not enough for dinner, but just enough for breakfast.

I diced it up into ~10mm squares and added it to my standard chicken-broth-and oatmeal. No special seasonings. I used home made chicken broth, ’cause we had it. I didn’t use beef broth, ’cause I thought the beef would overpower the fish.

Setup: 1/3 cup of stone ground rolled oats, one cup chicken broth, one diced fishcake, salt. Cook for 10 minutes or so, depending on the exact style of oats. No potatoes, because of the breading.

Results: Very good. The breading dissolved, and helped thicken the broth. Much more flavor than plain broth-n-oats, but not overly fishy, probably because of the breading.

Rating: *** three stars.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.